I Remember

One field.

Two towers.

93

11

175

77

5 Walled Building.

I remember.

I was on the way to work when I heard on the radio that a plane had flown into one of the Twin Towers.  It wasn’t explained and I envisioned a small plane, with a learning pilot, and I remember feeling such sorrow for whoever that was.  I couldn’t understand why a little plane would have been there.

I pulled into work and remember walking through the parking lot on that beautiful blue day.

I remember the shock of my ‘vision’ being so wrong.

Over the next eight hours we couldn’t turn the news off.

We couldn’t believe what we were hearing.

Or seeing.

All I could think of was the people in the buildings, in the planes, and the people who watched the news with the realization their loved one was there.  Or there.  Or there.

I can close my eyes and see my office.  I can hear my phone ringing and my sister calling to say she was going home because the world was on fire.

I picked up pizza for the family on the way home.

I don’t remember if we ate it or not.

I remember my youngest child lying on the floor and falling asleep.  She didn’t wake up for 18 hours.  Her body, or her mind, wouldn’t let her wake up to the horrors.

I couldn’t close my eyes without seeing the faces on television, or in my imagination.

I remember the world responding.  With kindness.  With love.  And with support.

I remember feeling helpless.

I remember not knowing what to do to help.

I remember crying for people I did not know.

I remember.

I remember the world changing that day.

 


 

Tagged , , , , ,

46 thoughts on “I Remember

  1. I do also remember that day, Colleen. It was horrible.

  2. crowdedmind says:

    My son was born a couple of days later and I remember thinking what world have I brought him into that one human could do this to another. It’s good to remember, thanks for your words.

  3. ivors20 says:

    I remember, here in Geelong. and Leonard Cohen wrote a song, “On That Day”.

  4. marvel says:

    It´s good not to forget!

  5. ksbeth says:

    i will always remember, too.

  6. All this for me too…

  7. markbialczak says:

    I won’t ever forget that life-altering day, MBC. 😦

  8. It was a horrific, terrible day. I will never forget receiving a call from a loved one that they were fine and coming home….

  9. I was at the airport in Anchorage, Alaska waiting to get on a plane to fly back home. My boarding pass was in my hand and my luggage had already been loaded on the flight. Then an airport employee announced that “Due to an extreme emergency, all flights have been cancelled. Please clear the airport as soon as possible and go to your hotel or home immediately.” We were shocked because there wasn’t a television at the airport and we didn’t know what was going on. A man sitting near us made a phone call and then let us know what had happened. I had to stay in Anchorage another week before I was able to fly home. What a terrible day!

  10. We were on vacation and when we came down to breakfast it was on the TV. We thought it was a Sci Fi movie and then the reality set in. Shocked, we packed out bags and immediately went home. That was a very dark day for so many.

  11. I remember. The world changed. Innocence and the innocent were lost. Painful, but we must remember and try to be good to each other.

  12. goldenbrodie says:

    I remember every moment of that day. I remember driving to the closest Blood bank, gave blood…was the first person there…the staff became overwhelmed in a matter of minutes. I stayed and managed the crowd and eventually sent the people home…there was no way to take blood from the crowd…we knew then there were no survivors who would need our donation. I will always remember and I am so glad that it has become a part of me. So sad, so beyond being real.

  13. tarafaherty says:

    I’ll always remember.

    • marvel says:

      I remember, we had no television at this time. We lived in Brasil and a friend arrived from the airport and told me, what he saw at the sceens at the airport in Sao Paulo. We went to a friend and turned on the television. We just wached shocked and didn´t say anything….it was horrible to realize that this is true!

    • I know…..as difficult as it is to think about….it’s the very least we can do. And the very most. To think about them.

      • marvel says:

        you are right Colleen. Solidarity is important. And above all, when people have experienced such a traumatic experience, you never should forget it. You should go through life at all more ruthlessly, I do not exclude myself.

  14. Wonderful message Colleen, we all remember the life changing events…this particularly. ❤

  15. Debra says:

    A very painful change, yes!

  16. reocochran says:

    Hard to press “like,” hard to read. I was teaching preschool, sitting at our morning playdoh table, singing our welcoming song. . . Our principal had us call the parents, one by one. My teaching asst, Karen, wouldn’t call, for fear of sobbing.
    We held our emotions “in check” for over an hour. As the last child was picked up, we closed the door, turned off the lights and cried together. We may have prayed since we often did this. I just remember the release of our tears. We were allowed to go home. When I got home my youngest was 15, sitting curled up on our velvet sofa which there wasn’t any TV in our living room. I had called her cellphone but each time it had gone straight to voicemail. She didn’t want to believe it really happened. Neither did I.

Leave a Reply

